Bored on a Saturday afternoon

So most of my friends are out of town this weekend and I have spent the last 4 days in front of the tv myself. I love a lazy weekend like anyone else, but I was on the verge of crazytown! What do I do when that happens? I take on a project! One of my favorite coworkers gave me a recipe for soft pretzels when I left work for the last time on Friday. She found it at Smitten Kitchen, which happens to be my favorite place to get new recipes!  Anyone who knows me, knows that I have a mad love affair with soft pretzels. It could be even considered an obsession. Cue my PA born and bred roommate loving them too, and it was decided. Saturdays project was soft pretzels.

Now I love to bake, I know my way around an oven, but I have stayed away from breads until now as working with temperamental yeast scares the bejeezus out of me. But brave I was, we bought the ingredients and I began slaving away.  The first thing anyone should know, is these are soooo easy to make. I mean ridiculously easy. They are also extremely cheap. I had to buy some yeast, some course salt, and some more flour because I was running low, but after buying those 3 things, I have enough to make about 4 batches.

While easy and cheap, they were time consuming however. Lots of steps! All in all it took me about 4 hours from start to finish, but I do admit we had some holdups as my roomie and I stopped to cook onion soup hamburgers and corn on the cob for dinner (also yum!) But finally, they were finished! Mmm don’t they look like delicious little nuggets!

My roommate has sufficiently been oohing and ahhing over them. I can’t wait to introduce them to my darling PA born and bred BF today too as I know he’ll love them. I made mini ones this time out of fear of being able to deal with the long pieces of dough for the large ones. Next time I”ll tackle those. There will be a next time!

Leave a comment

Filed under food, recipes

Leave a Reply

